School.

So….I haven’t posted in a long time. On purpose. I really have been avoiding it.

Because my update should be about my new job right? School has been in for almost a month now. Why no updates? Or pictures of my room? Anything?

Because I am stressed out. Being a teacher is hard. I have been a long-term substitute before and knew how much time and effort it would take to be a teacher, but even that could not prepare me for what it was actually like.

And like I said, I have been avoiding this post. Because I do not have good things to say. And I don’t want to sit and be negative. Or whine. Because I finally have an adult job and that’s how life is. Hard. So whatever, right?

So I won’t.

I will tell you the good things about teaching. Because those are the only things that are keeping me from not crying, even now as I am writing this post.

My students are so great. Not even joking, they are the best! I have 30 of them, and they truly are wonderful. I was so nervous for this age group, but because they are more mature, I can do more with them. I can have conversations with them that I wouldn’t be able to have if they were younger. They are sassy, but a good kind of sassy. The kind of sassy that just makes me laugh and love them even more.

I love teaching. So why am I so stressed out and hating life right now? It’s complicated. But the act of teaching-I absolutely love. I am so passionate about it and am grateful that I have the opportunity to teach my 30 amazing students 5 days a week.

I know that this post probably does not make sense, but I feel like I need to give some sort of an update. So just know that I really do love teaching, and my kids. And that is the most important part.

Oh, and I love all of you too 🙂

8 thoughts on “School.

  1. So glad for an update. I think it is great that you are moving forward in your journey of teaching. I can’t imagine the amount of work and energy that goes into it and the stress that would come with teaching in general- especially being a first year teacher. Hang in there!

  2. Guess not. Well- I can’t remember what I said. But I’m glad you shared this post. I’m sorry it’s a struggle. I can’t imagine being in charge of teaching all those kids every day. Thats a lot of responsibility and I’m sure so much work. Sometimes all we can do is just hang in there and ride the wave. 🙂 Hope things smooth out. Love ya.

Post a comment